History Fair

2019 CHS History Fair Winners
Posted on 03/10/2019
National History Fair 2019 Logo

CHS Calvert County History Fair Winners

Congratulations to Nathan Maldonado Munoz and Gabrielle Vicmudo, Calvert County History Fair's Most Outstanding Project Award Winners. They won the Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller’s Award for Historical Excellence and will be advancing to the Maryland State Competition on Saturday, May 11th at The University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC).

What is National History Day?

National History Day is a highly regarded academic program for secondary students. Students conduct months of extensive primary and secondary research on historical topics related to an annual theme. This year’s theme was “Triumph & Tragedy in History.” Students present their work through original research papers, websites, exhibits, performances, or documentaries after analyzing and interpreting their sources and drawing conclusions about their topics’ significance in history. Students enter their research products into competitions to advance through school, district, state, and national levels where they are evaluated by professional historians, educators, and community members.

Congratulations to the following Calvert High Winners of the 2019 History Fair. Advancers in each category will represent Calvert County in The Maryland History Day, which will occur on Saturday, May 11, 2019 at UMBC.

Maryland State Advancers:

Nathan Maldonado Munoz & Gabrielle Vicmudo – Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller’s Award for Historical Excellence, Group Documentary Senior Division, “Houston We’ve Had A Problem Here: A Triumph in the Midst of Failure.”

Jessica Misiorek – Award for Excellence in Science and Technology, Research Paper Senior Division, “Chiune Sugihara: The Triumph of His Life Saving Visas During the Tragedy of WWII.”

Gabriele Backus – Individual Exhibit Senior Division, “Dorothea Dix: A Reformer’s Triumph over Mental Health Tragedy.”

Emily Shatuck – Individual Exhibit Senior Division, “A Rip in the Iron Curtain: The Hungarian Revolution of 1956, Tragedy as Communism Triumphs.”

Jenna Cockrell & Sophia Shenberger – Group Exhibit Senior Division, “Rosenberg’s: The Tragedy of American Triumph in Espionage.”

Angel Gringas – Individual Documentary Senior Division, “Rachel Carson and the Environmental Movement: tragedy of WWII that Led to the Triumph of Silent Spring.”

Josephine Hughes – Individual Documentary Senior Division, “The Mask Masker”

Anabella Falco- Individual Performance Senior Division, “The Triumph and Tragedy of an Unsinkable Ship.”

Celeste Milani – Individual Website Senior Division, “Apollo Missions.”

Austin Giggey, Broderick Butts & Kaden White – Group Website Senior Division, “Pearl Harbor”

Olivia Westman & Jessi Trilli – Group Website Senior Division, “Diana, Princess of Wales.”

Lenny Frieson – Award for Excellence in Cultural Arts

Honorable Mention:

Victoria Vaughn – Individual Exhibit Senior Division, “The Atomic Bomb of WWII”

Special Category Awards:

Lenny Frieson – Award for Excellence in Cultural Arts, “Triumph and Tragedy of a YouTuber.”
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.